Acquisitions- 4/3/10

I’ve been buying a lot of music lately, so I’ve decided to keep track of my purchases here. I’ll try to update every Saturday, which seems to be the day I am drawn up to Amoeba. Remember people, shop independent retailers when you can. And no, iTunes is not independent. Here’s this week’s haul:

Christian Scott- Yesterday You Said Tomorrow

This record absolutely kills. It manages to be new and familiar at the same time. Scott has my absolutely favorite tone on the trumpet, and his playing is wise well beyond his 27 years. Really looking forward to his L.A. shows at the end of this month.

Matt Wilson Quartet- That’s Gonna Leave A Mark

This one was a pleasant surprise, recommended to me by Michael Jenner. Great songs and the honkin’-est sax I’ve heard in awhile.

Ben Allison- Think Free

Solid record from a great bass player. Album focuses more on his compositional skills than flashy playing, which is just how it should be.

Lee Morgan- The Cooker

Eh. Its pretty good. I guess I wanted more. Morgan’s solo on “A Night in Tunisia” sounds completely separate from the band.


Leave a Reply

